Author Topic: Skate Excellence vs Skate UK for beginners  (Read 1736 times)

SK8R

Skate Excellence vs Skate UK for beginners
« on: March 29, 2022, 08:38:00 pm »
Hi all,

I’m a complete beginner (and in my 50s). I have recently completed level 1 of Skate Excellence and looking to continue on my ice skating journey.

I’ve found the course of 6 lessons not exactly what I expected but have just got on with it. What I mean is that I’ve found them to be a little light weight in that you’re quickly shown a move (such as lemons) and then told to do the move to the other side without much further interaction or comment. There are other participants at level 2 who are doing the same things. I’m not exactly sure what I did to pass level 1 and can’t see what I’ll be doing differently to pass level 2.

It might be that I’m expecting too much from group classes. I was wondering whether to enroll at my other local rink where they do Skate UK but will it be much different? If it’s more or less the same then I may as well stick with the Planet Ice rink as the classes and skate sessions are cheaper.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Badass

Re: Skate Excellence vs Skate UK for beginners
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2022, 01:39:05 pm »
Hi SK8R,

I take Learn To Skate classes at Cambridge, the coaches sometimes show us a move from the next grade or have us warmup on moves from the previous grade, I wouldn’t be surprised if you do more lemons, backwards lemons, lemon then glide, half lemons, etc, etc and maybe you’ll get more tips from the coaches to level it up or maybe they’ll demo it and you’ll nail it first time  O0

Skate Excellence seems to have detailed grading with descriptions of the move, what you’re aiming at and like the purpose of learning it, whereas LTS grades are written with the absolute minimum, like a telegram.