Author Topic: Learn to play hockey / Hockey basics  (Read 3402 times)

Florence

Learn to play hockey / Hockey basics
« on: February 05, 2018, 06:33:54 pm »
Just wandering what they do in these classes?
Do you get a good mix of abilities or, complete beginners etc?
Are there any pre requisites or can anyone have a go?

(Eg. The ones you see advertised at PI / Silver blades.

Thank you  :)

MonkeyBeaver

Re: Learn to play hockey / Hockey basics
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 08:05:52 pm »
Just wandering what they do in these classes?
Do you get a good mix of abilities or, complete beginners etc?
Are there any pre requisites or can anyone have a go?

(Eg. The ones you see advertised at PI / Silver blades.

Thank you  :)

My 8 year old went on the Hockey excellence course at our local Planet
Ice before Christmas. The ability level varied wildly among the other kids on his course but most of them could skate un aided. Due to other commitments my boy had been on the regular Skate excellence lessons & when he switched over to the hockey excellence had already past level 4, he was not however the best skater on his lessons.
He is now on the under 9s team but as the hockey excellence is just before team training I still see some of the lessons, this time around there are kids with penguins & the ones without penguins are very wobbly.
Not sure what it’s like at your closest rink but the hockey excellence lessons here in
Peterborough are only for kids, between 4 & 15.

Our experience of the lessons was that they were split into 2 - 3 groups & each group practiced a different skill, then they would swap round. One of the skills was always just pure skating with no stick or puck involved.

Florence

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2018, 05:02:36 pm »
Thank you Monkeybeaver, Interesting! 
I always envisagd them to be full of wanna be peeps doing already awesome footwork.

Useful to know are attended by very begginers too.