Author Topic: Advice for backwards skating please  (Read 3072 times)

Jo

Advice for backwards skating please
« on: March 16, 2019, 06:48:37 pm »
Hi. I'm an adult newbie skater, only since January. I'm having difficulty when going backwards, especially with transitioning the backward penguin marching into a glide. Speaking to one of the coaches she said with feet in V position just push off with the intended foot. However when trying this I just could not get any grip on the ice with the blades to push off. Aside from doing backwards lemons I am going nowhere. Do any of you lovely people have any advice about how I can push off backwards please?

Apologies if I've explained this rubbishly.

spinZZ

Re: Advice for backwards skating please
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2019, 12:30:04 pm »
Hi. I'm an adult newbie skater, only since January. I'm having difficulty when going backwards, especially with transitioning the backward penguin marching into a glide. Speaking to one of the coaches she said with feet in V position just push off with the intended foot. However when trying this I just could not get any grip on the ice with the blades to push off. Aside from doing backwards lemons I am going nowhere. Do any of you lovely people have any advice about how I can push off backwards please?

Apologies if I've explained this rubbishly.
No.  You don't do a linear push, as in stroking forward.  You do a C-push (a semi-circular motion) for stroking backwards.  Here's a good video (you should watch it in its entirety; great tips along the way):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1TSFCZLTMk

It takes you from 2-ft stroking with 2-ft glides (what you call backward lemons; also called backward swizzles) to 1-ft stroking (C-push; also called backward half-swizzle) with 2-ft glides [at about 2:15 on the video] to 1-ft stroking with 1-ft glides.

Good luck!  Skating backwards is such great fun.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2019, 12:46:09 pm by spinZZ »

transmissionoftheflame