Author Topic: Beginner, help wanted (next steps and which skates)  (Read 957 times)

fgr97

Beginner, help wanted (next steps and which skates)
« on: March 24, 2018, 12:44:25 pm »
Hi, I have recently decided to start skating. I have been skating only about once a year for the past 5 years or so, but can skate very confidently (forwards!) around the rink, at good speed.

I skated for a few hours yesterday (with terrible rental skates), and was able to skate laps of the rink balancing for a second on each foot (attempting to do stroking - not sure if it was right). I can also do forward 'lemons'. I can glide on one foot with my leg behind or in front, on either leg.

I feel ready to try out some more difficult things. I can't yet stop, or skate backwards, so maybe these are the next steps?! What should I be working on next, and what sort of progress should I expect to make in the next couple of months?

I am a 20 year old female, and am able to skate once (sometimes twice) a week for about 2.5 hours.

I am also looking to buy some skates. I am currently looking at Graf Bolero (though would ideally like something a bit cheaper - possibly Graf Davos, though I'm worried they'll wear out quickly).

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.  :)

Snufkin

Re: Beginner, help wanted (next steps and which skates)
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2018, 01:06:48 pm »
Congratulations on taking up this great sport :) Definitely find out if there is a group lesson for adults at your rink as if you teach yourself, your form is likely to be very poor. Expert coaching is important in ice skating.

I would say that in order to be skating 'at good speeds', you should know how to stop otherwise that's not very safe for other rink users! I think a good strong stop should be a priority for anybody. I think most people find the snowplough stop the easiest. You can find videos about how to do it on YouTube.